It’s COLD

It’s COLD.  I mean real cold.  So cold, the cat won’t go outside.  The dogs lie on their beds and sleep all day. School was closed two days because of the cold.   I snuggled under the down comforter as long as my husband would let me.  I would prefer to go to bed at midnight and get up at 8am but that’s not going to happen.  I have to get up and drive my daughter to school.

There’s an old wives tale that if snow remains on the ground for three days afterward, you’ll get more snow.  If that’s the case, we’ll get a ton of more snow.  We’ve been in the house since Thursday morning.  Thankfully the highway in front of the house has been clear more the most part so I could get milk.  So long as I have milk, shortening and self-rising flour to make biscuits, I’m fine.  I know there are women who would take this opportunity of “enforced” confinement to clean the house from one end to the other.  But, not me.  I barely made the bed.  My daughter preferred to sleep on the sofa and hubby practically lived in the recliner.  Sorry, I just can’t clean house unless I’m by myself.

So, I knitted.  I finished one glove for my daughter.  It’s Evangeline from Knitty.  I’m knitting it in Comfort worsted weight.  This really isn’t a yarn I’m enjoying working with because it splits so easily.  I modified the pattern to include fingers.  I’m not so sure I’m going to wait to finish the other one until I can get 4- or 5-in dpns.  These 8-in dpns are hard to work with when you’re knitting the fingers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

